Review of Dollshe Arsene doll

Order date: 1st February 2017
Order shipped: 4th April 2017
Arrived at my door: 10th April 2017

There’s many reasons why I love the Dollshe Arsene:

(1) That face! It’s not exactly handsome, in fact it’s a little quirky and unusual, but that’s what makes it beautiful to me. I’m always attracted to things that are not overt or explicit. I think he has the potential to wear many different expressions. No kidding I really want to paint 100 Arsenes!

Faceup for Julie W

Faceup for Julie W

(2) That body! It’s subtly erotic, lol! It doesn’t even have to do anything in particular, just sitting there in fact it just quietly exudes that vibe, I don’t know! I’ve handled many other kinds of doll bodies, but this one just wants to “bend” a certain way and the result is a combination of a slightly shy but at the same time alluring poser. It’s bewildering and intriguing.

Faceup for Julie W

Faceup for Julie W

And this!! Very important: all my dolls need to be able to have their hands tied behind their backs, it’s kind of my doll litmus test (shuusshh don’t ask me for details why).

Faceup for Julie W

Faceup for Julie W

It does have some issues with sitting position though. I think if the slits on the upper thighs can be made just a bit longer, then this body can sit without the torso bending awkwardly back like this:

Faceup for Julie W

Faceup for Julie W

Also, I feel that perhaps the neck might appear a bit short and stocky compared to other dolls I’ve handled before, but this neck proportion is closer to an actual human being as opposed to the more elongated idealised doll beauty.

Faceup for Julie W

Luckily, it can do this sort of hunch forward a little so the sitting position doesn’t look very stiff, but I’m not sure how long this body can hold this pose.

Faceup for Julie W

(3) Dollshe resin. Like wow… it’s so good to paint. My paint takes well to it, and the surface is flawless and durable, can be repainted many times with little issues. Also the design of the joints and the sculpting are amazing. There are these sillicon pads in all of the major sockets such as the shoulders and upper thighs where they join the hips. Because they are round dots, they do not tend to fall out like my 5th Motif Venitu sillicone pads tend to do.

Faceup for Julie W

And this! I totally appreciate the metal reinforcements on critical tension points such as the neck. I’ve never cracked any doll with stringing too tightly before, but this is a great idea:

Faceup for Julie W

Unfortunately as my budget is limited, I didn’t order the other set of hands. I wish one day when I saved up a bit more I can order them, but for now look at these nicely sculpted masculine fingers.

Faceup for Julie W

Faceup for Julie W

Overall, it’s an awesome doll. I’ve already got 4 Arsene heads but I think I want to buy a 5th doll 🙂

Faceup for Julie W

Review of Dollshe Arsene doll

Leave a Reply

