Life in the dream house

Barbies: I. Just. Love. Them.

When my mom bought me my first Barbie doll, I thought she was pretty magical. She wasn’t a special edition or anything, she was just a standard doll, blond, blue eyed, plastic smile, but out of all my toys, she was my favourite (okay, maybe only second place to that one My Little Pony with the yellow skin and the blue tail and smelt like somebody had fermented her in fish oil, that was one cool pony). I knew then that I definitely was a doll-loving sort of person. There’s something inexplicably attractive about people made miniature, and all the mundane things that made up their lives made into plastic miniatures. Maybe it’s the uncanny valley syndrome, the god-complex, heck I dunno, all I know is that here I am centuries later and I still love them. My collection is a far cry from anything outstanding, but I adore every single one of these:

My gals (This isn’t everybody yet. I’ve got three BB girls en route from my sister when this photo was taken.)

My Boys:

And the best thing? I can fit all of them in the one tub with some room for more!

So here’s some of the rooms thus far. I have one spare shelf and I’m leaving it alone for the moment until I can figure out whether I want to do an outdoor scene with fake grass and picket fence, maybe some swings…or should I turn it into an office? I think the office would look a lot cooler but it would take more time making all the desks, chairs, computers, dividers, phones, memo boards…sounds amazing though and I can see when it’s done it’s going to look great. Hmm… but before I move on to that project I’ve got one more thing to add to the party room, and that’s a pool table (remember this helene!).

Anyway, a quick look at the rooms?

Anyway, a few weeks ago I’m was decorating our second shelf. I didn’t exactly know what the room would be and the materials for it were gathered from all kinds of scrap so I kinda had to make them work together as opposed to starting out with a room in mind then gathering all the stuff I need for it. So this room is a bit of a thrown-together project.

As much as I love making stuff, crafting takes a looong time X__X… they make it so easy in videos!

I found some christmas decs in the shape of disco balls and thought ok maybe this can be like a party room or something. It needed something unusual. Then i came across Froggystuff‘s tutorial on how to make a vending machine for 1/6 figs & I thought oh that’s just exactly what we need in this room. Doll sofas, chairs and cabinets are always kind of spiffy to have, but a vending machine? Now that’s gotta be making a statement. LOL!

Did I ever mention how awesome a glue gun is? It’s so awesome…so so awesome.

I’m not great with words and I sure as hell hate reading too many of them, so I’m just going to post a bunch of pics….

Some time between March and April, we made some couches!

Note to self: After the coffee machine, the glue gun is the second most important item in this household.

Would have been perfect, except that none of the Barbie Basics chics has bendable knees so they can’t even sit down properly…. what a fucking waste of my time…

And most of the time, between March and April, there were just fuckloads of crafting….

We’ve got a couple of these old book shelves that i’ve had since moving out of Kensington. They’ve not been used for ages. So I divied up the gang into teams like in The Block where each team has to complete a room of a particular theme.

That was the plan anyway, what turned out in the end was nothing like…. anyways, this was around about the same time I started shifting my attention from the Fashionistas line to the Barbie Basics line. What followed was a whole lot of craziness. Someday I’m going to have to blog about how I brought each doll home.

I stuck the wallpaper on a bigger piece of cardboard so the backgrounds can be taken out of the shelves and used elsewhere like on a table or in a convention for display. When I’m finished they can be folded up to store or just slid back into the shelves.

It’s really quite worrisome how the number of dolls just kept getting larger and larger with each progress pic, lol!

And oh, Ken cosplaying Crocodile Dundee…

 

 

Life in the dream house

Leave a comment